The 2019 dog license tags are now available. NH State Law requires that all dogs be registered by April 30th each year.
The Town Clerk’s office will not be mailing out renewal notices for dog licenses this year.
Every owner or keeper of a dog which is 4 months old or older shall annually license the dog for the year in the Office of the Town Clerk. In addition, the dog must wear around its neck a collar to which a metal tag is attached with the name of Town and year of the issue of the license and its registration number. Regardless when the license is obtained, it shall be effective from May 1 of each year to April 30th of the subsequent year.
Before a license is issued, the owner or keeper of the dog must furnish verification that the dog has been vaccinated against rabies. If a valid rabies certificate is on file with the Town Clerk, the owner shall not be required to produce such verification at the time of the license. It is the responsibility of the owner to update proof of vaccination.
- $ 7.50 – spayed or neutered dogs
- $ 3.00 – first dog owned by Senior Citizen over 65 years
- $10.00 – all other dogs
- $21.00 – group license; five or more dogs
Transfer of License:
A recorded New Hampshire license shall be valid in any part of the State of New Hampshire, and may be transferred with the dog licensed.
Failure to License:
If an owner or keeper of an unlicensed dog fails to license the dog in a timely manner, the Town Clerk shall notify the local law enforcement office of a violation of RSA 446:1.