REGISTRATION,

PLATES. LICENSES
Description:  The local portion of a vehicle registration done by the Town Clerk where an applicant resides is called a permit.  The permit portion must be done with the local town clerk before the state portion can be done.  The completed form is then called the registration.
For new registrations, registrants holding clear title to a vehicle must submit the original title in addition to a bill of sale to the Town Clerk who prepares the New Hampshire title application and registration.  If there are two owners, BOTH owners MUST be present to sign the title application. Taxes on the vehicle are calculated based on the list price of the vehicle when it was new (without options).  Taxes and applicable fees are due and payable to the Town Clerk at the time of application.
There are three types of registrations, which may be handled by the Town clerk:  

1.
Renewals:  Same vehicle and same owner. 

2.
New vehicles:  New to owner.

3.
Transfers:  Transferring plates from one vehicle to another with same owner.

Non-titleable Vehicles:  Effective January 1, 2001, in order to register any 15-year or older vehicle, you will need, in addition to a Bill of Sale, at least one of the following:

a.
Valid out-of-state title, or

b.
Previously issued NEW HAMPSHIRE registrations (copy acceptable), or

c. 
Verification of VIN Form (TDMV 19A)  (available at Town Clerk’s office)
Motor Vehicle Inspection:  On a newly registered vehicle (including trailers over 3,000 lbs.), state inspections are required within ten (10) days after the registration is processed.  Vehicles being renewed must have an inspection during their renewal month.  (There is a 10-day grace period into the following month.)
Change of Address:  Residents must notify the Department of Motor Vehicles of their new address within ten (10) days of a change.  Forms are available at the Town Clerk’s office.
New Residents:  New residents to the State of New Hampshire are required to register their vehicles and obtain a New Hampshire driver’s license within sixty (60) days.

License Plates:  The following plates are available through the Town Clerk’s office:

1.     Standard 7 digit plates

2.     Conservation (Moose) plates**

3.     Motorcycle plates

4.     Trailer plates

5.     Agriculture plates

6.     Farm plates

7.     Tractor plates

8.     Vanity plates:  Passenger, motorcycle, antique, trailer & conservation**


All other plates must be obtained at one of the Department of Motor Vehicle offices.

Purple Heart Plates:

You MUST start at the Town Clerk’s office, and then obtain the plate at the Concord office of the DMV.  Purple heart plates are now available for motorcycles.  

Veteran Plates:

Veteran Plates are available at any DMV substation; however, you MUST start at the Town Clerk’s office.   To qualify, the registrant must provide a copy of a DD-214, NA Form 13038, NAVPERS-553, WD AGO Form 53-55, WD AGO Form 53-98, NAVMC 78-PD, NAVCG-2510, U.S. Dept. of Veteran Affairs (VA) Verification of Service letter, NA Form 1341, or NCG Form 553, indicating that they were honorably discharged and the vehicle must be registered with the veteran’s name first.  By statute, the new Veterans plates are non-transferable and expire upon the death of the veteran.  No transfer credit is allowed.

**Conservation & Vanity Plates:

Both must be purchased at time of registration renewal or new vehicle registration (not mid-year).  Conservation plates cost an additional $30.00 per year, which is donated to a conservation fund and is tax deductible. Vanity plates cost an additional $40.00 per year.  Town Clerk’s office now issues Conservation & Vanity plates.
Driver’s Licenses:

Drivers in New Hampshire must be at least 18 years old unless they have completed a driver’s education class.  Any driver under 18 may be licensed after reaching age 16 by presenting a certificate for successful completion of a driver’s education class and fulfilling other application requirements.  See New Hampshire State Regulations RSA 236:19, 20, 21 and 23 or for more information on-line at the DMV
Parental or guardian permission is also required for application for a driver’s license or registration for those under the age of 18.  The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles regulates testing for new drivers and issuing of the license.  Applications may be made at any of the State Motor Vehicle locations.
NOTICE: YOU MUST BRING EITHER A COPY OF YOUR REGISTRATION OR THE LETTER SENT TO YOU IN THE MAIL IN ORDER TO RENEW YOUR REGISTRATION.  NO EXCEPTIONS!








